top
Back to overview

AP Therapy Outcome and Prevention in case of LV-EF <40%

Background

Heart failure is the only cardiovascular disease whose incidence and prevalence are increasing in Germany as well as worldwide. Its course is progressive and medicated inadequately its prognosis resembles malignant diseases. Numerous controlled studies on selected patients have proven that due to a stage-adapted therapy both morbidity and mortality can be reduced considerably and the quality of life can be improved. However, the penetration of these results in the daily clinical routine is insufficient. On the one hand, the currently increasing hospitalization- and mortality rates account primarily to older patients who are underrepresented in the randomized studies. On the other hand, the implementation of evidence based therapy measures on suitable patients is insufficient, at least because of economic constraints. In contrast to other heart diseases as Myocardial Infarction or Atrial Fibrillation, whose epidemiology and supply situation are well examined within the scope of national and regional registers (Berlin Myocardial Infarction Registry), no systematical examinations with representative data exist when it comes to heart failure.

Objective

“TOP 40” is the first step in the creation of the Berlin Heart Failure Registry, whose goal it is to determine the level of care that patients hospitalized for systolic heart failure receive. Special attention will be given to evidence-based heart failure medication and device therapy (ICD, CRT). Results of the pilot project are to serve as basis for concepts for quality assurance and for an optimization of regional supply structures.

Key Results

Registry data were analysed according to current standards of heart failure care. Patients treated for heart failure at teaching hospitals received significantly more betablocker therapy, coronary catheterization and device therapy compared with patients treated at community hospitals.

Publication

  • Tscholl V et al. Differences in the management of patients with heart failure in university and non-university hospitals in Berlin: the TOP 40 (therapy outcome and prevention) pilot-registry. Poster presented at the ESC HFA Congress, Göteborg, 2011.

Outlook

Initial data collection as well as the 1-year follow-up has been completed.  A long-term follow-up for “TOP 40” is planned.

Contact

PD Dr. Hans-Dirk Düngen
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Medizinische Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Kardiologie
Tel.: +49 (0)30 450676818
E-Mail: ed.etirahcnull@negneud.krid-snah

Dr. Richard Stern
Jüdisches Krankenhaus Berlin, Zentrum für Herzinsuffizienz
Tel.: +49 (0)30 49942277
E-Mail: ed.enilno-bkjnull@nretS.drahcir

nach oben
Zurück zur Übersicht

AP Das Berliner Herzinsuffizienz-Register

Hintergrund

Die Herzinsuffizienz ist eine kardiovaskuläre Erkrankung, deren Häufigkeit in Deutschland wie auch weltweit ansteigt. Sie wird häufig zu spät erkannt und behandelt, die Sterblichkeit dabei gleicht der einer fortgeschrittenen Krebserkrankung. Zahlreiche, kontrollierte Studien haben an Patienten mit Herzinsuffizienz belegt, dass sowohl Morbidität als auch Mortalität durch eine stadienangepasste Therapie entscheidend gesenkt und die Lebensqualität verbessert werden kann. Die Penetration dieser Ergebnisse in den klinischen Alltag ist jedoch unzureichend. Zum einen betreffen die derzeit steigenden Hospitalisierungs- und Mortalitätsraten im Wesentlichen ältere Patienten, die in den randomisierten Studien unterrepräsentiert sind. Zum anderen ist die Umsetzung der evidenzbasierten Therapiemaßnahmen auch bei dafür geeigneten Patienten nicht zuletzt aufgrund ökonomischer Zwänge unzureichend. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Herzerkrankungen wie z. B. dem Herzinfarkt oder Vorhofflimmern, deren Epidemiologie und Versorgungslage im Rahmen von nationalen und regionalen Registern (Berliner Herzinfarkt Register) gut untersucht sind, gibt es zur Herzinsuffizienz keine systematischen Untersuchungen mit repräsentativen Daten.

Zielsetzung

„TOP 40“ (Therapie-Outcome und Prävention bei linksventrikulärer Ejektionsfraktion unter 40 Prozent) ist die Keimzelle eines Berliner Herzinsuffizienz Registers, welches den Versorgungsstand von stationären Patienten mit systolischer Herzinsuffizienz ermitteln wird. Besondere Beachtung findet dabei die Leitlinientreue bezüglich der Medikation und Implantat Therapie (ICD, CRT). Die Ergebnisse des Pilotprojekts sollen die Grundlage bilden für Konzepte zur Qualitätssicherung und zur Optimierung regionaler Versorgungsstrukturen.

Hauptergebnis

Im Rahmen des TOP-40-Registers wurde bei Herzinsuffizienz-Patienten in universitären und nicht-universitären Kliniken Berlins die Behandlung in Bezug auf die geltenden Leitlinien verglichen. Demnach kommen in Universitätskliniken mehr Betablocker, Herzkatheteruntersuchungen sowie Schrittmacher und Defibrillatoren zum Einsatz als in außeruniversitären Krankenhäusern.

Schlüsselpublikation

  • Tscholl V et al. Differences in the management of patients with heart failure in university and non-university hospitals in Berlin: the TOP 40 (therapy outcome and prevention) pilot-registry. Poster präsentiert beim ESC HFA Congress, Göteborg, 2011.

Forschungsperspektive

Ergebnisse aus Herzinsuffizienz-Registern liefern wichtige Informationen zur Versorgung der Patienten. Die 1-Jahres-Nachverfolgung im Rahmen des TOP-40-Registers wurde abgeschlossen und befindet sich in der Auswertung. Ein langfristiges Follow-up ist geplant.

Kontakt

PD Dr. Hans-Dirk Düngen
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Medizinische Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Kardiologie
Tel.: +49 (0)30 450676818
E-Mail: ed.etirahcnull@negneud.krid-snah

Dr. Richard Stern
Jüdisches Krankenhaus Berlin, Zentrum für Herzinsuffizienz
Tel.: +49 (0)30 49942277
E-Mail: ed.enilno-bkjnull@nretS.drahcir