top
Back to overview

TP 12 Multicenter Trials

Background

Drug treatment for heart failure has undergone a fundamental transformation in the past 20 years. Today, beta blockers are indispensable. Their use is recommended by national and international specialist associations for all patients, regardless of age. Elderly patients are the largest group with heart failure: 90 percent of patients with heart failure are over 65 years of age. However, due to fear of side effects with multiple accompanying medications and comorbidity, This treatment is frequently withheld from elderly patients in particular. The situation is made more difficult by the fact that the average age of study patients has traditionally not reflected the older age of the population under investigation.

Objective

We developed an internationally recognized study group – „Multicentric Heart Failure Therapy Studies“ – with good organizational structures. The study groups are composed of staff members from the centers collaborating with the competence network and involve experts from all subspecialties in cardiology, cardiovascular surgery, biometrics and statistics. The purpose of this is to substantially improve the quality of clinical therapy studies in the area of heart failure.

Key Results

Careful up-titration of betablocker therapy is necessary for older patient populations. In the controlled randomized CIBIS-ELD trial (883 Patients), bisoprolol lead to greater decreases in heart rate and was better tolerated by patients with pulmonary comorbidities compared with carvedilol. Self-rated quality of life was a predictor of adverse events in heart failure patients.

Publications

  • Düngen HD et al. Titration to target dose of bisoprolol vs. carvedilol in elderly patients with heart failure: the CIBIS-ELD trial. Eur J Heart Fail. 2011;13:670-80.
  • Lainscak M et al. Self-rated health predicts adverse events during beta-blocker treatment: the CIBIS-ELD randomized trial analysis. Int J Cardiol. 2011 Jun 6. [Epub ahead of print].
  • Gelbrich G et al. Is target dose the treatment target? – Uptitrating beta-blockers for heart failure in the elderly. Int J Cardiol. 2012;155:160-6.

Outlook

A multinational, multidisciplinary research network of hospitalists, general physicians and cardiologists, coordinated by the heart failure study center at the Charité, is now equipped to implement and efficiently manage future publically and privately funded multicenter clinical trials (such as BIOSTAT-CHF, MOLITOR, ETICS, Ex-DHF).

Contakt

PD Dr. Hans-Dirk Düngen
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Medizinische Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Kardiologie
Tel.: +49 (0)30 450676818
E-Mail: ed.etirahcnull@negneud.krid-snah

nach oben
Zurück zur Übersicht

TP 12 Multizentrische Therapiestudien

Hintergrund

Die medikamentöse Therapie der Herzinsuffizienz hat sich in den letzten 20 Jahren grundlegend gewandelt. Betablocker sind heute unverzichtbar. Ihr Einsatz wird von den nationalen und internationalen Fachgesellschaften bei allen Patienten – unabhängig von ihrem Alter – empfohlen. Älteren Patienten stellen die größte Gruppe der an Herzinsuffizienz Erkrankten: 90 Prozent der Herzinsuffizienten sind über 65 Jahre alt. Aus Furcht vor Nebenwirkungen bei multipler Begleitmedikation und Komorbidität wird jedoch gerade den älteren Patienten diese Therapie häufig vorenthalten. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass in den bisherigen großen Studien zur Betablockertherapie die Studienpatienten im Durchschnitt viel jünger waren, als es der Wirklichkeit entspricht.

Zielsetzung

Eine international anerkannte Studiengruppe „Multizentrische Therapiestudien bei Herzinsuffizienz“ mit guten organisatorischen Strukturen wurde aufgebaut. Die Studiengruppe setzte sich aus Mitarbeitern der im Kompetenznetz kooperierenden Zentren und Experten aus allen Teilbereichen der Kardiologie, Herzchirurgie sowie der Biometrie und Statistik zusammen, um die Qualität der klinischen Therapiestudien auf dem Gebiet der Herzinsuffizienz zu verbessern.

Hauptergebnis

Bei der Behandlung von älteren Patienten mit Herzinsuffizienz ist besondere Vorsicht geboten, die Einstellung auf Medikamente (Betablocker) sollte langsamer erfolgen (CIBIS-ELD-Studie). In dieser kontrollierten randomisierten Studie (883 Patienten) führte Bisoprolol im Vergleich zu Carvedilol zu einer stärkeren Senkung der Herzfrequenz und wurde von Lungenkranken besser toleriert. Die selbst eingeschätzte Gesundheit sagt unerwünschte Ereignisse (z. B. Krankenhauseinweisungen) voraus.

Schlüsselpublikationen

  • Düngen HD et al. Titration to target dose of bisoprolol vs. carvedilol in elderly patients with heart failure: the CIBIS-ELD trial. Eur J Heart Fail. 2011;13:670-80.
  • Lainscak M et al. Self-rated health predicts adverse events during beta-blocker treatment: the CIBIS-ELD randomized trial analysis. Int J Cardiol. 2011 Jun 6. [Epub ahead of print].
  • Gelbrich G et al. Is target dose the treatment target? – Uptitrating beta-blockers for heart failure in the elderly. Int J Cardiol. 2012;155:160-6.

Forschungsperspektive

Ein in Südosteuropa (Serbien, Slowenien, Kroatien, Bosnien, Montenegro) aufgebautes Studiennetzwerk steht für öffentlich und industriell geförderte multizentrische Therapiestudien zur Verfügung (u.a. BIOSTAT-CHF, MOLITOR, ETICS, Ex-DHF). Eine Studienambulanz mit Zuweisernetzwerk (Hausärzte, Kardiologen) sowie guter Vernetzung an der Charité erlaubt eine effiziente Projektabwicklung.

Kontakt

PD Dr. Hans-Dirk Düngen
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Medizinische Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Kardiologie
Tel.: +49 (0)30 450676818
E-Mail: ed.etirahcnull@negneud.krid-snah