top
Back to overview

TP 5 Etiology of Heart Failure

Background

Illnesses originating primarily in cardiac muscle tissue – the cardiomyopathies – are the third most common cause of heart failure in western industrialized nations after coronary artery disease and hypertension. The most common form of cardiomyopathy is dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), in which the cardiac cavities are enlarged and there is a loss of function. The second most common form is hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM), in which the myocardial tissue thickens abnormally.

The enormous progress in the identification of disease genes have fundamentally changed our understanding of cardiomyopathies. It is well-known that mutations lead to different forms and variations in the progression of the illness. However, genetic examinations have been reserved for scientific research up to now, and thus limited to very few patients and families. For this reason, we do not have enough experience with a sufficient number of precisely genotyped patients in estimating the significance of individual mutations for the highly variable clinical progression of cardiomyopathies.

Objective

Subproject 5 has two primary goals: on the one hand, cross-linked research should enable us to offer patients with hypertrophic and dilated cardiomyopathy (HCM and DCM) molecular diagnoses. The primary focus here is on the development and validation of a molecular genetic diagnostic procedure that meets the requirements of timely, cost-effective and accurate human genetic examinations. On the other hand, these examinations should be representative and record the frequency of mutations in the known disease genes as well as their correlation to the clinical forms of heart failure. 

Main result

Two genes that are important for the initiation of cardiomyopathic disease, i.e. MYH7 and MYBPC3, were sequenced using DNA biosamples of 236 patients with hypertrophic and 652 patients with dilative cardiomyopathy. This approach yielded a new and profound insight into the relation between mutations and subsequent dysfunctions of cardiac structure and morphology.

Publications

  • Waldmüller S et al. Novel correlations between the genotype and the phenotype of hypertrophic and dilated cardiomyopathy: results from the German Competence Network Heart Failure. Eur J Heart Fail. 2011;13:1185-92.
  • Budde BS et al. Noncompaction of the ventricular myocardium is associated with a de novo mutation in the beta-myosin heavy chain gene. PLoS One. 2007;2:e1362.

Perspective

All subjects are followed long-term. DNA samples for cooperative research (e.g., next generation sequencing to investigate genotype-phentype associations) with academic and industrial partners are available.

Kontakt

PD Dr. Thomas Scheffold
Celenus Fachklinik Freiburg
Tel.: +49 (0)761 888595945
E-Mail: ed.grubierf-kinilkhcafnull@dloffehcs.t

nach oben
Zurück zur Übersicht

TP 5 Genetische Ursachen der Herzinsuffizienz

Hintergrund

Primär vom Herzmuskelgewebe ausgehende Erkrankungen – die Kardiomyopathien – sind nach den Herzkranzgefäßerkrankungen und dem Bluthochdruck in den westlichen Industrienationen die dritthäufigste Ursache der Herzinsuffizienz. Die häufigste Form der Kardiomyopathien ist die dilatative Kardiomyopathie (DCM), bei der es zu einer Erweiterung der Herzhöhlen mit Funktionsverlust kommt. Die zweithäufigste Form ist die sogenannte hypertrophe Kardiomyopathie (HCM), bei der es zu einem vermehrten Muskelwachstum des Herzens kommt.

Die enormen Fortschritte in der Identifikation von Krankheitsgenen haben das Verständnis der Kardiomyopathien grundlegend verändert. Bekannt ist, dass Mutationen zu verschiedenen Erscheinungsformen und unterschiedlichem Fortschreiten der Erkrankung führen. Eine Genuntersuchung ist bislang jedoch wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen vorbehalten und damit auf wenige Patienten bzw. Familien begrenzt. Es fehlt hingegen an Erfahrungen bei ausreichend vielen, präzise genotypisierten Patienten, um die Bedeutung einzelner Mutationen für den sehr variablen klinischen Verlauf bei Kardiomyopathien abschätzen zu können.

Zielsetzung

Das TP 5 verfolgt im Wesentlichen zwei Ziele: Einerseits soll durch eine vernetzte Forschung Patienten mit hypertropher (HCM) und dilatativer Kardiomyopathie (DCM) die Möglichkeit einer molekularen Diagnostik angeboten werden. Dabei steht die Entwicklung und Validierung eines molekulargenetischen Diagnostikverfahrens, das den Anforderungen einer zeitnahen, kostengünstigen und präzisen humangenetischen Untersuchung genügt, im Vordergrund. Andererseits sollen diese Untersuchungen repräsentativ Art und Häufigkeit von Mutationen in den bekannten Krankheitsgenen erfassen sowie ihre Beziehung zur klinischen Ausprägung der Herzinsuffizienz aufzeigen.

Hauptergebnis

Anhand der DNA-Proben von 236 Patienten mit hypertropher Kardiomyopathie und 652 Patienten mit dilatativer Kardiomyopathie wurden zwei für die Krankheitsentstehung bedeutsame Gene (MYH7; MYBPC3) sequenziert. Dabei ließen sich wichtige Zusammenhänge zwischen verschiedenen Mutationen einerseits und Störungen der Herzfunktion und -struktur andererseits aufdecken.

Schlüsselpublikationen

  • Waldmüller S et al. Novel correlations between the genotype and the phenotype of hypertrophic and dilated cardiomyopathy: results from the German Competence Network Heart Failure. Eur J Heart Fail. 2011;13:1185-92.
  • Budde BS et al. Noncompaction of the ventricular myocardium is associated with a de novo mutation in the beta-myosin heavy chain gene. PLoS One. 2007;2:e1362.

Forschungsperspektive

Die einbezogenen Patienten sollen mit Unterstützung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft in einer Follow-up-Studie weiter untersucht und betreut werden. Die DNA-Proben stehen für Kooperationsprojekte, z. B. Next-Generation-Analysen von Genotyp-Phänotyp-Korrelationen, zur Verfügung.

Kontakt

PD Dr. Thomas Scheffold
Celenus Fachklinik Freiburg
Tel.: +49 (0)761 888595945
E-Mail: ed.grubierf-kinilkhcafnull@dloffehcs.t