top
Back to overview

TP 9a Inflammatory/Familial Dilated Cardiomyopathy: Is there a Link to Autoimmune Diseases?

Background

Diseases originating primarily from cardiac muscle (the myocardium) – the cardiomyopathies – are the third most common cause of heart failure. The most common form of cardiomyopathy is dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), in which the cardiac cavities are enlarged and there is a loss of systolic and often also of diastolic function. A multifacetted combination of genetic, autoimmune and viral factors is suspected as the cause of DCM, but the involvement of modifier genes and environmental factors is also under discussion. Familial forms appear to account for DCM in up to 40 % of cases. Some of these patients may have an autoimmune disorder or dysregulation or a predisposition for infections. In individuals, this can apparently lead to symptoms of inflammatory DCM, triggered by a particular vulnerability of the myocardium, resulting for example from an infection with cardiotropic viruses or from environmental factors.

Objective

The purpose of this subproject is to improve the understanding of the pathogenesis of DCM by answering the following questions. Therefore a detailed family history, which includes the family tree, will be taken. In the second phase of the project all family members will be included, as far as this is possible. Particular questions include the following:

  1. In families with DCM, is there a genetic association with autoimmune diseases or with infections?
  2. In addition to a genetic association or predisposition, is there a change in the regulation of the expression of responsible genes?

Main results

More than 50% of all patients with myocarditis, pericarditis or inflammatory cardiomyopathy are susceptible for autoimmune disease. In these patients, genetic variants (polymorphisms) of genes responsible for inflammatory and autoimmune regulation pathways could be detected that may trigger the development or aggravate the course of the disease in dilative cardiomyopathy. Such genetic information may also be used to predict disease progression and prognosis.

Publications

  • Portig I et al. Familial inflammatory dilated cardiomyopathy. Eur J Heart Fail. 2006;8:816-25.
  • Ruppert V et al. Gene expression profiling from endomyocardial biopsies allows distinction between different entities of inflammatory heart disease. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2008;136:360-369.
  • Ruppert V et al. Evidence for CTLA4 as a susceptibility gene for dilated cardiomyopathy. Eur J Human Gen. 2010;18:694-9.

Perspective

Currently, in a collaborative research project with Astra-Zeneca, these investigations are continued long-term in a multicenter study. Several cooperations within the competence network (e.g. with subproject 6b and 5) are also continuing.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Maisch
Universitätsklinikum Gießen und Marburg,
Klinik für innere Medizin – Kardiologie, Standort Marburg
Tel.: +49 (0)6421 5866462
E-Mail: ed.grubram-inu.demnull@hcsiam.drahnreb

nach oben
Zurück zur Übersicht

TP 9a Die inflammatorische dilatative Kardiomyopathie als Manifestation einer autoimmunen Diathese

Hintergrund

Primär vom Herzmuskelgewebe ausgehende Erkrankungen – die Kardiomyopathien – sind die dritthäufigste Ursache der Herzinsuffizienz. Die häufigste Form unter den Kardiomyopathien ist die dilatative Kardiomyopathie (DCM), bei der es zu einer Erweiterung der Herzhöhlen mit Funktionsverlust kommt. Als Ursache für die Entstehung der DCM wird ein multifaktorielles Geschehen aus familiären, autoimmunen und viralen Faktoren vermutet, aber auch die Beteiligung von Modifier-Genen bzw. Umweltfaktoren wird diskutiert. Familiäre Formen scheinen in bis zu 40 Prozent der Fälle die DCM auszumachen. Bei einem Teil dieser Patienten dürfte eine autoimmune Störung bzw. Fehlregulation vorliegen. Diese kann offenbar beim Einzelnen – getriggert durch eine besondere Verletzbarkeit des Myokards, z. B. infolge einer Infektion mit kardiotropen Viren, oder Umweltfaktoren – zur Ausbildung des Krankheitsbildes der inflammatorischen DCM führen.

Zielsetzung

Absicht dieses Teilprojektes ist es, das Verständnis der Pathogenese der DCM durch Antworten auf folgende Fragen zu verbessern, wobei eine ausführliche Familienanamese inkl. Stammbaum erhoben wird und alle Familienangehörigen – soweit möglich – eingeschlossen werden. Besondere Fragestellungen sind:

1.              Gibt es in Familien mit DCM eine genetische Assoziation zu Autoimmunerkrankungen/Infektionserkrankungen?
2.              Gibt es neben einer genetischen Assoziation bzw. Prädisposition auch eine veränderte Regulation der Expression dieser Gene?

Hauptergebnis

Mehr als 50 Prozent der Patienten mit Myokarditis, Perikarditis oder entzündlicher (inflammatorischer) Kardiomyopathie weisen eine Neigung zu Autoimmunerkrankungen auf. Bei diesen Patienten konnten genetische Varianten (Polymorphsten) verschiedener für Entzündungs- und Immunprozesse bedeutsamer Gene nachgewiesen werden, die die dilatative Kardiomyopathie begünstigen bzw. zur Abschätzung der Krankheitsprognose hilfreich sein können.

Schlüsselpublikationen

  • Portig I et al. Familial inflammatory dilated cardiomyopathy. Eur J Heart Fail. 2006;8:816-25.
  • Ruppert V et al. Gene expression profiling from endomyocardial biopsies allows distinction between different entities of inflammatory heart disease. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2008;136:360-369.
  • Ruppert V et al. Evidence for CTLA4 as a susceptibility gene for dilated cardiomyopathy. Eur J Human Gen. 2010;18:694-9.

Forschungsperspektive

Die Untersuchungen zu Diagnostik, Therapie und Verlauf der inflammatorischen dilatativen Kardiomyopathie werden mit Unterstützung der Firma Astra Zeneca multizentrisch weitergeführt. Verschiedenste Kooperationen innerhalb des Kompetenznetzes (u. a. mit Teilprojekt 6b und 5) setzen sich fort.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Maisch
Universitätsklinikum Gießen und Marburg,
Klinik für innere Medizin – Kardiologie, Standort Marburg
Tel.: +49 (0)6421 5866462
E-Mail: ed.grubram-inu.demnull@hcsiam.drahnreb